Marriage Registration for Hindu, Jain, SIkh, Muslims, Christians, Parsi etc


Want to check how to register your marriage in India? Under which law one should register their marriage? What all communities can register marriage in India? Well you will get answers to all such queries here. India is a diversified country with many religions and traditions. For ease of operation, Indian Government allows wedding registration under 2 laws:

  • Hindu Marriage Act 1955
  • Special Marriage Act 1954

These two are main laws which are used all over the India. Now let we see who all can apply under individual marriage acts.

Who can register under Hindu Marriage ACT 1955

This act is applicable to all people who is Hindu by religion (or have adopted the same anytime). Other religions like Jain, Sikh, Budhhist. This act can also be extended to other communities except Muslims, Christian, Parsi and Jews. Please let us know if you have any doubts on the clauses/basis of conditions which describes who all can register their marriage under Hindu Act.

Marriage Certificate Registration
Marriage Certificate Registration

How to apply under Hindu Marriage Act 1955

Hindu marriages can be registered after solemnization only. Marriage can be solemnized at home, temple or any relevant religious place. It is advised to register your marriage well within the first 90 days of the solemnization (as no late fee is applicable during this duration and formalities are less as well). Follow below steps to get your marriage registered with Hindu Marriage Act 1955:

  • Visit your state’s online marriage registration portal
  • Fill in the application form
  • Upload the scanned proofs (documents which are mentioned)
  • Pay the application fee and download the registration copy

In case you are not finding any online channels then you can visit your nearby marriage registrar office for registering it. Follow below steps to register your marriage offline:
  • Visit nearby marriage registration office
  • Get the marriage application form there
  • Fill it completely (dully check it carefully)
  • Attach the required documents
  • Submit it back to officials
  • Collect the registration number for reference
  • Wait for the time, marriage certificate is issued to your given address

Check: How to register marriage in different Indian States (both Hindu and Special Marriage Acts covered)

Who can register under Special Marriage Act 1954

There are no restrictions on applying through Special Marriage Act 1954. It is open to all the communities, religions in India. This rule is applicable to all Indian states except Jammu and Kashmir. Inter caste marriages can be registered under Special Marriage Act 1954. Online marriage registration procedure under Special Act is similar to Hindu Act. However there are significant changes when it comes to offline registration. Below is the detailed guide on how to register marriage under Special Act:
  • Visit nearby registration office and ask for Special Marriage Act registration
  • A notice inviting objections will be issued which will be valid for 1 month
  • If any complains are received within 1 month of notice then marriage registrar will look into them and will decide accordingly
  • If no objections are received within 30 days then marriage will be solemnized after expiration of notice
 Rules are similar for all the Indian states. It includes:

  • Andaman and Nicobar islands
  • Arunachal Pradesh
  • Assam
  • Bihar
  • Chandigarh
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli
  • Daman and Diu
  • Delhi – national capital territory
  • Goa
  • Gujarat
  • Haryana
  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Jammu & Kashmir
  • Jharkhand
  • Karnataka
  • Kerala
  • Lakshadweep
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Maharashtra
  • Manipur
  • Meghalaya
  • Mizoram
  • Nagaland
  • Odisha (orissa)
  • Punjab
  • Puducherry (Pondicherry)
  • Rajasthan
  • Sikkim
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Telangana
  • Tripura
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Uttarakhand
  • West Bengal
I am Hindu. Can I apply under Special Marriage Act?
Yes. Special Marriage Act can be used by anyone irrespective of their religion and cast. Love marriages are mainly registered under this act. Any marriage can be solemnized using Special Marriage Act, provided no objections are received in 30 day notice period (if received, then solemnization will depend upon the investigation).

No comments:

Post a Comment